March 4, 2017

I woke up at 5:30 this morning and went running because my sleep schedule is still more fucked than Anne Hathaway in Love & Other Drugs and because I am apparently becoming one of those monsters who do shit with their mornings. Don’t worry; I hate me just as much as you do. I went back to Il Duomo and I can confirm that it is an incredible sight to take in when it isn’t surrounded by the scum of the earth (and yes, I am fully aware that calling tourists the scum of the earth lumps me in with them. I’m on a real self-loathing streak right now. Calm the fuck down.)

Far be it for me to say that I felt like a local, but cutting through the streets of Milan with just the taxi drivers and walk-of-shamers gives a completely different perspective of the place. Shop owners were laying out chairs in front of their cafés. The trains lolled down the tracks with only a passenger or two to weigh them down. Closed windows reflected my pathetic excuse for running. It was a calm before the storm.

Like, literally a storm. It’s supposed to rain all day today. So if this is the entirety of my post, know that I spent the rest of my day staring longingly out of my window and watching Netflix. That may sound like a waste of a day, but that’s because you’ve never seen what they have on Netflix in Italy. Seriously, look that shit up. Inception is on here! And if watching a Leonardo DiCaprio movie isn’t quintessentially Italian, then I don’t know what is.

__________

In other huge news, I did laundry today. Turns out my boy Lorenzo has a washing machine, but not a dryer. This means I have to dry my clothes like a poor person from the 60’s. On the bright side, when the washer finishes a cycle it plays a dope little song that I am absolutely going to record and post so that you too, can feel the joys of Cold War era poverty.

Leave a Reply

